Inspired by John Constable – Stratford Mill

acrylic painting of stratford mill after john constable

Inspired by Constable Stratford Mill

The painting shows the river at Stratford Mill as painted by John Constable in the 19th century.  I was fascinated by the beautiful setting and I tried to employ light and shade on a much smaller scale than the original work.

The acrylic painting on Hahnemuhle fine art carton is just 13x18cm in size while the original oil on canvas is much larger with 127 x 182.9 cm. The connoisseur will easily detect the differences. You are welcome to let me know your thoughts.

Constable´s works can be seen in the National Gallery in London.

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in art, painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.