Is Plywood a Suitable Surface to Paint on? – Painting Tips

Pat Harrison landscape paintings

palette and brushes

The question about painting on plywood as a suitable surface to paint on was raised on a forum which I subscribe to.

I should think that plywood over a certain size would be unsuitable to paint on unless you strengthen the back of it.

I have painted on chip wood using oils some 40 years ago and it still looks good today. No warping on a 40 x 60 cm board 2cm strong (16x24in and 3/4in strong).

Even the chip wood panels which are only 1/2 in strong do not seem to have bent over the years.

By the way the back was left raw.

I suppose I can be glad that I was´nt into selling in those days otherwise how would I know  

Plywood is a different story. I have never used any beyond 20x30cm at 0.5cm strong. I would be reluctant to use any larger sheets for painting.

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in All Painting Media, art, howto, painting, points of interest, Suggestions, tip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

