En Plein Air Equipment

easel with unfinished work

at work

Agata, Thank you for asking and for the opportunity to explain a little more about my painting “en plein air” sessions.

They do pose a challenge. Fortunately I had a portable easel given to me by friends as a christmas present some years ago.

The picture shows you that it has a drawer which is ideal to carry all the paint tubes, small tubs to clean my brushes in, and of course the brushes etc.

I have also bought a fold-up trolley to transport the equipment.

example

My Trolley

I still have all my hands full as I also take a carrier bag with a bottle of water for my acrylics and a bottle of water to drink (not to be confused). The bag also contains my 750ml bottle of Daler Rowney white. So I make sure I do not have too far to walk from where I have parked my car.

Once on location it takes about 20 minutes to set it all up and get started. You get to know a lot of people who also dabble in painting or who know someone who does. The best part is when they like what they see.

So I do enjoy the experience.

PS
I do not know whether the pictures representing my equipment actually come from the companies I have linked to. There must be lots of other offers available.

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to En Plein Air Equipment

  1. Pingback: La Boucherie De Rue Mouffetard | GALLEGOS

  2. Thank you both for the information. This is very helpful. Also, as someone without a car, it is likely that I will have to hold off for awhile still due to the amount of stuff required (like I expected, and I didn’t even consider half of this stuff!). I don’t think I’m ready (mainly mentally, haha) to walk through downtown with a trolley of art supplies, but hopefully one day soon. Thanks again for the insight !

  3. Zalamanda says:

    Not quite the way I do it, Pat.
    I like to be able to get away from the beaten track (or, at least, the road), so my gear was selected in order to be light(ish) and to be carried in or on a backpack. I dismissed wood as being too heavy, and went for a folding metal easel (without box), a sturdy plastic box from a DIY store for the paint tubes etc, and a standard 3-legged folding camp stool. Then I made my own bespoke cardboard canvas carriers. It works for me, and it was quite cheap.
    There’s a picture of the whole caboodle on a beach in this post: http://amanda-bates-artist.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/from-herra.html

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

