Selling Art Online – Just A Dream?

Pat Harrison´s webshop

LINK to Website

There are lots of very fine artists who have taken to selling online. Various discussions on forums will tell you that this is not an easy task.

You can build your own website and try to get a google ranking by feeding the site almost daily. You can join a popular website hoping it will create some sales for you. You may even want to pay for the privilege to be listed on a site. Alternatively you might auction your work off on eBay at ridiculously low prices.

It is probably best to regard the Internet as a means of telling your contacts about your activities and give them an opportunity to take a brief look at your work. Personally I use my website to direct people to when I send out promotional letters.

I do not expect my website to attract buyers. As many artists and collectors will agree there is nothing like seeing a work of art in reality. The stamp size picture on your screen will not give you an impression of size, texture, or brush stroke. It might get you interested in the artist but I am sure you would want to see his work in real life.

So I go out “en plein air” sessions taking some finished work with me. My paintings are on show in galleries and similar venues on a regular basis. Oh, and I do use the internet to look out for opportunities to show my work around the country and abroad.

You are welcome to share your personal experience by leaving a comment.

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in All Painting Media, art, Marketing, selling art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

