Winter in the Mountains – Acrylic Painting

Winter landscape by Pat Harrison

Winter in the Mountains

This painting of a winter landscape is the result of my exhibition and painting demonstration at a shopping centre in a major city. It was painted from memory. Although I love the mountains I have never been there in winter so I had to invent this scene for a lack of photographs.

It was painted in acrylics on Hahnemuhle carton size 17x24cm. I started with the sky using a mixture of cerulean blue and white. Once it was dry I scrubbed in the clouds in circular brushstrokes. The mountains were created with an underpainting of prussian blue and umber.

The snow was applied with the painting knife. The shadow side of the mountains received a very light wash of a watery blue.

The trees nearest the mountains were stippled on lightly using a very pale green. The snow on those trees required a light touch of white. 

The foreground trees and evergreen bushes were painted with a well-worn brush using phtalo green and umber. The same brush was used to stipple on the white snow.

This may be turned into a Christmas card next year.

Please contact me via my contact page to enquire about limited edition prints which are available in different sizes.

You will find more pictures here and an enlarged view after clicking on the painting.

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, painting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

