Top Tips – Comparison Selling Art Online or Offline

Pat Harrison´s webshop

LINK to Website

I have found an interesting comparison where someone is placing the arguments for and against selling art online or offline before us.

There are millions of websites with artists trying to sell online. We all know this is not an easy task. It can take more than a year before you get a reasonable number of visitors to your website. Among other things keyword reasearch is an important factor to be recognized on the web.

I agree with the author of the said article in that you have to do both, attend shows and go online. Shows and galleries give your prospective customers a chance to see your work in reality. The internet is a nice tool to direct people to for a first impression. But remember the pictures you display are only small and the chances to be found by a prospective buyer are minimal. Even to get a reasonable google ranking you will have to feed the site almost daily. If you are prepared to pay for the privilege to be listed on a site there is no guarantee it will earn you money. Also I do not auction my work off on eBay because of the ridiculously low prices.

Personally I use my website to direct people to when I send out promotional letters. I do use the internet to search for galleries, shows and exhibitions. This is where the web can be most useful. I also go out “en plein air” sessions taking some finished work and limited edition prints with me.

Feel free to share your personal experience with us.

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in All Painting Media, art, Marketing, selling art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top Tips – Comparison Selling Art Online or Offline

  1. Pingback: Top Tips – Comparison Selling Art Online or Offline | graceimpressionsblog

  2. Sea Dean says:

    I couldn’t make the link work. I would like to read that article

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

