How to Paint a Mansion in Acrylics – Part 2

Following on from yesterday´s report about my painting commission I can now tell you about the next steps.

painting by Pat Harrison

trees and hedge added in

As the greens were still resting on the palette I dabbed in the first textures of the bushes in front of the wall using a well worn out no.6 flat brush. Touching the paper lightly and twisting the brush as I went along I created the required background structures. These would later be fine-tuned to arrive at the 3d illusion I was aiming for.

painting by Pat Harrison

windows

Negative painting was used to create the windows. All that was required was to put in the square shapes of the window panes with Payne´s grey on the smallest brush on my list a round no.2/0. Adding more white to the mix of Payne´s grey I painted the shadow areas round the windows where necessary.

painting by Pat Harrison

the wall

The next step was to work an the wall by dabbing the unterpainting with the no.3 round brush and darker shades of raw umber and a touch of burnt sienna. Sometimes I would wet an area with water first to let the paint flow. At other times I would go over the dabs of paint with water to make them merge with the area around them. Other areas would see a hint of acrylic white blend with the dabs of raw umber. This was intended to ensure that the wall would look interesting and not just uniform in colour and structure.

painting by Pat Harrison

details of the trees

Details of the trees now had to be tapped on with my well-worn no.3 round brush by using greens mixed from lemon yellow, coeruleum blue and burnt sienna adding raw umber and Payne´s grey as required to darken the shades of green. Branches of lighter greens were placed in the foreground to create more depth in the painting.

To be continued

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in acrylic, selling art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

