Useful French Box Easel – Art Tuition Video No.215


In about 7 1/2 minutes Michael Hodgkins tells us about the merits of his French box easel. He also discloses some of his inventions which he has added to enhance the usefulness of this easel even further. By the way I can second that having the same model and finding it very versatile indeed. The results can be viewed here.

Hope you like my choice of the day.

If you want to be kept up to date why not sign up using the follow button in the column on the right. You will receive an e-mail every time there is something new on this blog. You can unsubscribe any time simply by clicking the unfollow button. You will not have to disclose any personal details other than an e-mail address to register with wordpress.

Reading the comments I have noticed that Pia is having problems with her easel. Here is my answer.

Pia, There should be three wooden brackets inside the lid of the easel to hold the drawer in place. Maybe the previous owner has removed the brackets. The most important one to hold the drawer for carrying is the one at the top. See photo.

bracket to hold drawer for carrying

bracket to hold drawer for carrying

 

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in All Painting Media, art, howto, painting, tuition, video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Useful French Box Easel – Art Tuition Video No.215

  1. Pia says:

    I have an easel that looks exactly the same in design, I paused and studied all the bits underway, but still didn’t figure out a solution to my problem: When I try to carry it by the handle, the drawer falls out the bottom. I can see the previous owner solved this by taping it shut, which really isn’t an option imho.
    But I can’t see that anything is missing either, his drawer just stays put.

    • Pia says:

      Thank you for the explanation. I watched the video again and now I see it.

      At first it looked like there had never been anything inside the lid, but on closer inspection (I’m entering the fun age of having a collection of glasses for various distances) there are faint marks from glue strips in the exact position that your photos show. Must have fallen off quite simply, bad glue job rather than rough handling.

      I’m no stranger to saws and clamps, so now I know how to fix this, thanks! It was driving me batty.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

