Top Tips – producing magnets of your artwork for exhibitions

In an earlier post I was telling you about preparing fridge magnets for my solo exhibition in May to be sold in the museum´s shop where the exhibition will take place. The cards to hold the magnets have now arrived from my supplier. Here is how I went about producing those magnets.

I bought the magnets from my regular supplier. In order to present them to customers I wanted to mount them on a card giving information about the location pictured on the magnet.

I had to search high and low to find a printer to get me the size card I wanted as I had planned to fit it in a polythene sleeve normally used for CDs. This would be an off the shelf item to keep the cost down.

As the printers required the layout to be uploaded to their website ready for printing I had to think hard how to do that. Not being in the possession of sophisticated software I found a way to use a simple photo editing programme. I created a template the exact size to fit the CD sleeve selecting CMYK and 300dpi for the colour resolution. I used the TIF file format for the best possible picture quality.

Now I was able to design the card just as I wanted it to look. Uploading it to the printer´s online shop their software checked the file and told me that everything was shipshape. So I went ahead and ordered it. Although I had to buy more cards than I needed it was still more economical and more professional looking than producing them on my home printer.

The next step was to attach the magnets to the presentation card by means of photo corners. That way the magnet can be easily removed from the presentation card if customers should wish to do so. As I had also printed the magnet´s image on the card you would even end up with a pretty picture after the magnet had been removed.

The magnets will be ideal souvenirs for visitors to the museum. They can even become collectors items to be put in an album or people might attach them to a metal surface at home.

As the presentation card sleeve is a standard clear CD cover you can easily post these to a friend in a standard CD envelope.

You will find more of my paintings when you click here. For an enlarged view please click on the photo. Similar originals and limited edition prints are available upon enquiry.

If you want to contact me personally please click here.

More of my own paintings here.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About landscape painter

Painting and drawing have been my passion from early childhood. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with the Judges Award at a show I now have one of my paintings on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, exhibition experience, painting, selling art, tip and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

