How to Paint a Winter Scene – Art Tuition Video No.44


Today I have chosen a time lapse video with Alan Kingwell showing us how to paint a winter scene. After a 30 second introduction you can watch Alan meticulously using the effects of light and dark to create this beautiful painting in just over 7 minutes.

Judging by the fact that Alan placed his fist on the painting to steady his hand he must have left the oil paint to dry for a week before he was able to do so.

If you want to paint wet into wet you would have to use a mahlstick instead. The mahlstick would be placed on the edge of the painting away from the wet surface. Alternatively you can employ acrylics which dry much faster than oils.
Hope you will enjoy today´s choice.

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion for decades. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with several awards for my paintings I now have one of my works on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in art, howto, oil painting, painting, video and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.