How to paint the interior of a Mansion – Part 1

Last year I was commissioned to create a painting of a mansion. This year I was asked to paint the interior.

All the correspondence with my customer has been via my website and via e-mails going to and fro. We have agreed on a layout and as you can see in the picture the initial drawing has been approved. Of course it does not look very exiting without colour.

It had to be composed based on several photos which were sent to me. As last year´s painting was eventually painted in watercolours this one was to match the previous one in size and technique.

I have used the following list of materials:

Acid free Hahnemuhle Fineart 30×40 cm watercolour paper 325 g/m² taped to a board.

Cotman Watercolours ultramarine blue, cobalt blue, lemon yellow, cad yellow, cad red, sap green, yellow ochre, raw umber, and black as well as Chinese white

Brushes: flat brush no.14, no.5 and no.1 round.

drawing by Pat Harrison

sketch – click to enlarge

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion for decades. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with several awards for my paintings I now have one of my works on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in selling art, watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.