How to paint the interior of a Mansion – Part 2

painting by Pat Harrison

step 1 – click image to enlarge

I have been commissioned to create a painting of the interior of a mansion. The customer sent me a number of photographs to work from. After posting the sketch I can now add the first instalment.

The windows of the room next to the main subject of the painting look out towards the bushes in the surrounding park. I used a very much diluted portion of sap green to create the illusion of light coming through those windows. The darker browns of diluted raw umber set those windows off nicely while cad yellow helps to outline the book shelves and the arches above the windows. Chinese white was used to highlight the window frames.

More of my paintings here.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

About Pat Harrison

Painting and drawing have been my passion for decades. I have attended numerous exhibitions in England and Germany. Presented with several awards for my paintings I now have one of my works on permanent display at a museum in Greater London with growing sales and commissions.
This entry was posted in selling art, watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to leave a comment or press the "like" button. If you haven´t got a wordpress account please use the "contact" page.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.